Governance disclosures

Contracts with senior officers

At the date of reporting no senior officers had any interests in existing or proposed contracts with the FPC, other than normal employment contracts. 


The FPC governing body is a Commission of seven commissioners appointed by the Governor, on the Minister for Forestry’s recommendation. The Governor appoints a Chairman and Deputy Chairman from the Commissioners. Commissioners may hold office for up to three years and are eligible to be reappointed. Individuals are nominated for a position on the Commission based on expertise and business acumen relevant to the core functions of the FPC. Profiles for the Commissioners can be found within the Annual Report’s Corporate snapshot section.


Two committees of the Commission operated during the year.

The Audit and Risk Committee’s role is to make recommendations to the Commission on the adequacy of internal and external audit arrangements, financial statements, financial administration policies, internal control systems, business policies and practices, compliance with laws, monitoring business risk and reporting procedures. Mr Geoffrey Totterdell chaired the Committee which includes Commissioners Mr Ewald Valom and Ms Amelia Yam.

The Sandalwood Committee was formed in 2016 to review and monitor the arrangements related to the 2016 sandalwood sales and marketing tender process and subsequent issues arising. Mr Ross Holt and Mr Grant Woodhams are members of the Committee.


Commission meetings and remuneration

The Commission formally met eight times throughout the year. Individual members of the Commission provided their expertise on a number of important strategic issues such as the restructure of the sandalwood industry and illegal harvesting, strategic risk management and fire management. Throughout the year, Commissioners visited a variety of forestry field operations and met with key industry stakeholders. 

The Forest Products Act 2000 requires Commissioners to disclose the nature of all material of personal interest in a matter being considered, or about to be considered by the Commission, as soon as possible after the relevant facts have come to the knowledge of the Commissioner.

      Commission Audit and Risk Committee Sandalwood Committee
    Number of meetings held 8 4 2
Name Period of membership Gross annual remuneration Attended Eligible to attend Attended Eligible to attend Attended Eligible to attend
Mr Ross Holt (Chairman) 1/07/16 - 30/06/17 $50,000 8 8 1   2 2
Mr Ewald Valom 1/07/16 - 30/06/17 $20,850 7 8 3 4    
Mr Robert Pearce 1/07/16 - 30/06/17 $20,850 8 8 1      
Mr Geoff Totterdell 1/07/16 - 30/06/17 $20,850 7 8 4 4    
Ms Jacqueline Jarvis 1/07/16 - 30/06/17 $9,703 6 8        
Mr Grant Woodhams 1/07/16 - 30/06/17 $20,850 8 8     2 2
Ms Amelia Yam 1/07/16 - 30/06/17 $20,850 6 8 4 4